Tow African American Historians to Receive Lillian Smith Book Awards


by Staff 22 Views

Authors and historians Jelani M. Favors and Brandon K. Winford have been announced as winners of the 2020 Lillian Smith Book Awards. Named after the acclaimed author of the controversial novel Strange Fruit (Harcourt, 1944) and other works, the Lillian Smith Book Awards recognize works that examine issues of race, social justice, civil and human rights, the education and socialization of young people, breaking silence among repressed groups and matters that are significant to the changing South. The awards are administered by the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of G...